5. Living Lab Nitra, Slovakia

Contact: Lucia Palšová, lucia.palsova@gmail.com
Slovak University of Agriculture, Nitra, Slovakia


5.1 Description of the area

Nitra Region is located in the southwestern part of the Slovak Republic. Nitra Self-governing Region has an area of 6,343 km², 354 municipalities, of which 15 have town status. The region consists of seven districts: Nitra, Komárno, Levice, Nové Zámky, Šaľa, Topoľčany, and Zlaté Moravce, and it belongs to one of the warmest areas and the most productive agricultural centers of Slovak Republic. From an economic point of view, Nitra Self-governing Region is agro-industrial. Sectors of the region are the food industry, machinery industry, and chemical industry. The food industry is located almost throughout the entire region. Allocation of the other types of the industry has specific characteristics. Komárno is a center of shipbuilding trade, Šaľa is the center of chemical production, Štúrovo is the center of the pulp and paper industry and Tlmače is the center of the engineering industry. Nitra is the only city in this region with different industries.


5.2 Sustainability issues related to the INVEST themes

a. Water, Energy Food and Environment Nexus

  • Support of sustainable agrobiodiversity and renewal of landscape architecture.
  • Use of renewable energy (e.g. geothermal energy, biowaste energy).
  • Sustainable food systems (support of self-sufficiency in the food supply, support of local farmers, food producers).

b. Quality of Life and Entrepreneurship.

  • Support of local employment through promoting local businesses (particular attention to young generation).
  • Enhancement of territorial identity (traditional agricultural cultivation, local food, traditions, tourism).